St. Lawrence Seaway Authority. This authority was established by an act of Parliament in 1951 (RSC 1970. c.S-1) and came into force in July 1954. It was incorporated for the purposes of constructing, maintaining and operating all such works as may be necessary to provide and maintain, either wholly in Canada or in conjunction with works undertaken by an appropriate authority in the United States, a deep waterway between the Port of Montreal and Lake Erie. Three Crown corporations, the Seaway International Bridge Corp. Ltd., the Great Lakes Pilotage Authority, Ltd. and the Jacques Cartier and Champlain Bridges Inc. are subsidiaries of the St. Lawrence Seaway Authority. The authority is composed of a president, a vicepresident and a member, and reports to Parliament through the minister of transport.

Science Council of Canada (Science Council Canada). This council was established in 1966 (RSC 1970, c.S-5) and became a Crown corporation on April 1, 1969. It consists of 30 members, each having a specialized interest in science or technology. Members normally hold office for three years. All are appointed by the Governor-in-Council. The duties of the council are to assess in a comprehensive manner Canada's scientific and technological resources, requirements and potential and to make recommendations, to increase public awareness of requirements and of interdependence of various groups in society in the development and use of science and technology. The council reports to Parliament through a designated minister, at present the minister of state for science and technology.

Science and Technology, Ministry of State for (Ministry of State Science and Technology Canada). This ministry was established by order-in-council PC 1971-1695 on August 11, 1971, with the primary purpose of formulating and developing policies in relation to federal government activities that affect the development and application of science and technology. It is organized into a government branch, industry branch, university branch and an administrative division, corporate services branch. The Science Council of Canada, the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council and the National Research Council all report to Parliament through the minister of state for science and technology.

Seaway International Bridge Corp. Ltd. This corporation was established under the Companies Act, by letters patent in November 1962 and received its certificate of continuance under the Canada Business Corporations Act on February 20, 1980. It operates the international toll bridge system between Cornwall, Ont, and Rooseveltown, NY on behalf of the owners, the St. Lawrence Seaway Authority and the Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corp. It reports to Parliament through the minister of transport.

Secretary of State of Canada, Department of the. The duties, powers and functions of the secretary of state (RSC 1970, c.S-15) extend to and include all matters over which Parliament has jurisdiction not by law assigned to any other department, branch or agency of the federal government relating to: citizenship; elections; state ceremonial, conduct of state correspondence and custody of state records and documents; encouragement of the literary, visual and performing arts, learning and cultural activities; and libraries, archives, historical resources, museums, galleries, theatres, films and broadcasting.

Responsibilities include those pertaining to the administration of the following branches: cultural affairs including education support, research and liaison, Canada student loans, language programs, state protocol and special events, movable cultural property export control, grants, film festivals, certification of Canadian films, translation bureau; citizenship programs including citizenship registration, multiculturalism, native

citizens, women, citizenship participation, official language minority groups and human rights.

The secretary of state reports to Parliament for the Canadian Cultural Property Export Review Board, the Canadian Film Development Corp., the National Arts Centre Corp., the National Film Board, the National Library, the Public Archives, the National Museums of Canada, the Canada Council, the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council, the Canadian Broadcasting Corp. and the Public Service Commission.

Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada). The council was established by the Government Organization (Scientific Activities) Act, 1976 (SC 1976-77, c.24) as a Crown corporation to promote and assist research and scholarship in the social sciences and humanities. The council is composed of the president and of 21 other members, both from the academic community and from other areas of society. It reports to Parliament through the secretary of state.

Solicitor General, Department of the (Solicitor General Canada). Before 1936, the office of the solicitor general was either a cabinet post or a ministerial post outside the cabinet. From 1936 to 1945 the position did not exist, the duties of the office being wholly absorbed by the attorney general of Canada. The Solicitor General Act of 1945 re-established the solicitor general as a cabinet officer. In 1966 a new Department of the Solicitor General was created (RSC 1970, c.S-12); the solicitor general became the cabinet minister with primary responsibility in the fields of corrections and law enforcement. He is responsible for the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and the Correctional Service of Canada and also reports to Parliament for the National Parole Board, an independent agency.